The Royal British Legion is honoured to have Her Majesty the Queen as our Patron.

While having royal patronage from its founding in 1921, the Legion received its "Royal" appellation in 1971 on its golden anniversary.

Our National President is Lt General James Bashall CB, CBE appointed in May 2019.

As National President, Lt General James Bashall will represent the Legion at key ceremonial events including the National Service of Remembrance at the Cenotaph and the Legion's Festival of Remembrance.

Her Royal Highness Princess Anne is President of the Women's Section of The Royal British Legion.

Royal British Legion Poppy Appeal collector in battledress holding red collection box

Our aims for 2021 and beyond

The RBL is a community made up of members, volunteers and staff across the UK and with branches around the world. The challenges of the pandemic revealed how strong that community is and how close its bonds are with the rest of society. Read our latest annual report to find out more about our work and our ambitious plans for the future.

Download our annual report

Thank you

We are so grateful for all donations which we have received over the past year. Our work would not be possible without our supporter’s generosity.

Thank you to our contributors

The Board exercises responsibility for the overall strategic direction, governance and management of RBL.

The Legion is governed by a Board of Trustees. Elections and appointments are staggered over a three year cycle to allow an intake of new Trustees every year.

The Board delegates responsibility for the day-to-day running of the Legion through the Director General to the Executive Board.

Board of Trustees


National President

Lt General James Bashall CB, CBE

National Chairman

Mrs Una Cleminson BEM TD

National Vice Chairman

Lt Col Joseph Falzon OSJ BEM

Elected Trustees

Lynda Atkins

Rodney Bedford     

Tony Goodwin

Paul Harris

Helen Owen

Anny Reid

David Whimpenny

Appointed Trustees

Elizabeth Butler

Jason Coward

Major General David Jolliffe CB FRCP

Monica Risam

Philip Moore

Debbie Sorkin

Chairman of Women’s Section

Pat Chrimes


Executive Board

Director General
Charles Byrne
Director of Finance
Daniel Oppenheimer

Director of Operations

Antony Baines
Director of Marketing, Fundraising and Remembrance
Gary Ryan 
Director of HR and Organisational Development
Karen Gill

Discover more

Back to top