Area Office 715X195 About the Legion


The Legion is governed by a Board of Trustees. Elections and appointments are staggered over a three year cycle to allow an intake of new Trustees every year.

The Board exercises responsibility for the overall strategic direction, governance and management of the Legion. The Board delegates responsibility for the day-to-day running of the Legion through the Director General to the Executive Board.

Members of the Board of Trustees and Executive Board are listed below.

Patron and National President

Vice Admiral Peter Wilkinson CB CVO, National President

The Royal British Legion is honoured to have Her Majesty the Queen as its Patron. While having royal patronage from its founding in 1921, the Legion received its "Royal" appellation in 1971 on its golden anniversary.

The National President of The Royal British Legion is Vice Admiral Peter Wilkinson CB CVO, appointed in October 2012.

Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal is President of the Women's Section of The Royal British Legion.

Board of Trustees

National Chairman Mr John Crisford
National Vice Chairman Mr Terry Whittles
Elected Trustees Appointed Trustees
Mrs Denise Edgar Adrian Burn
Lt Col Joseph Falzon OSJ BEM Jason Coward
Colin Kemp Maj Gen David Jolliffe CB FRCP
Bill Parkin Philip Moore
Col Neil Salisbury OBE DL Anthony Macauley
Martyn Tighe Catherine Quinn
Lt Col David Whimpenny  
Women's Section Mrs Marilyn Humphry
National Chairman Women's Section

Executive Board

Director General  Chris Simpkins
Deputy Director General & Director of Finance  John Graham
Director Operations  Sue Freeth
Commercial Director  Stephen Cooper
Director Fundraising  Charles Byrne
Director Marketing & Communications  Gary Ryan
Director Human Resources & Organisational Development  Sharron Lewis-James
supported by  
Head of Governance & Administration  Allan Burgin
Women's Section National Secretary  
Chief Financial Officer  Helen Downie

Share this page